Ilion High School

Class of 2012

Alumni News

2012 Ilion Yearbook


Meet the Class of 2012.....

Congratulations to all the graduates! Class Roster (May 8, 2013)


Top Scholars of the IHS Class of 2012....

Bobbi Kristina Latray is the 2012 Valedictorian.

Tressa Burrello is the 2012 Salutatorian.

Each of these students attained a final average of 90 percent or better. Other top scholars, in ascending rank, are as follows: Modified May 27, 2016

Ranks 3 through 10
Kayla Johnson
Min Lin
Corey Riley
Lauren Robinson
Kaleigh Engert
Xavier Schafer
Jessica Greig
Travis Murray
Ranks 11 through 18
Matthew Hall
Kathleen Kramas
Conner Marley
Kyle Madigan
Brandon Metz
Carly Hosler
Charlotte Brockway
Melissa Barr


Dr. James Patrei Memorial - Valedictorian and Salutatorian Trophies

Ten years ago, the Class of 1966 raised funds to create a special memorial for classmate and Class Valedictorian Dr. James Patrei. The trophies and recipient plaque were presented to the school during the 2002 Ilion Alumni-All Classes/Sesquicentennial Mega-Reunion. Presenting the plaque, during the football game half time ceremony, were Kathleen Carney Donahue, Dave Smithson and Lou Patrei. Each year, the trophies are presented to the hornorees and their names are added to the plaque which contains all the known names of past Valedictorians and Salutatorians. The Class of 2012 recipients are Bobbi Kristina Latray and Tressa Burrello. (May 5, 2012)

2012 Valedictorian Bobbi Kristina Latray
2012 Class Valedictorian
Bobbi Kristina Latray
2012 Salutatorian Tressa Burrello
2012 Salutatorian
Tressa Burrello
Images Courtesy of Ilion Central School District


Class Related Videos

The following videos were listed on the Ilion District website and pertain to the Class or 2012.

  • Class of 2012 Graduation - June 22, 2012 - Part 1 Part 2 Part 3

  • Class of 2012 Senior Awards Assembly - June 11, 2012 - Part 1 Part 2 Part 3 Part 4

  • Mott Marathon Challenge - June 7, 2012 - Part 1 Part 2 Part 3 Part 4 Part 5

  • Boy's Block I Awards - June 6, 2012

  • Girls' Block I Awards - May 30, 2012


    Tyler Brien< br/>Cortland Pitcher Tyler Brien
    Image used with permission of Patrick Brien

    Tyler Brien and the Cortland Red Dragons Baseball Team

    Tyler Brien and the Cortland Red Dragons won their first-ever Division III World Series and were welcomed home as national champions. The Red Dragons have been to the World Series 13 times. This was their first time winning the championship. Tyler is the son of Patrick Brien IHS 1996 and step-son of Katherine (Donahue) Brien IHS 1998.

    In mid-May, Ilion's Tyler Brian was granted a "... a rare military exemption waiver earlier this week. The NCAA Division III Baseball National Committee allowed SUNY Cortland to include Brien on its 25-man playoff roster for the regional's opening two days Wednesday and Thursday at Falcon Park in Auburn, N.Y., and then replace him for the remainder of the tournament." see the full story - SUNY Cortland Relief Pitcher Fulfills Duty on the Mound and in the Military. (June 13, 2015)

    Tyler Brien
    Tyler Brien with Coach, Mike Urtz IHS 89
    Image used with permission of Patrick Brien
    Tyler Brien
    Tyler Brien with his dad, Patrick Brien IHS 93
    Image used with permission of Patrick Brien


    Mott Marathon.....

    Ilion NY - 2012 Mott Marathon Challenge

    Participants this year ran the 26.2 mile marathon in honor of Kayleigh Coupe IHS '10. Run to Cure Kayleigh/Mott Marathon Challenge" on June 7, 3 pm, Ilion High School Track, raised over $1,000 for Livestrong (the group founded by cyclist Lance Armstrong to support cancer research and cancer patients) and nearly $4,000 for The Hope Lodge (the home Kayleigh stayed while receiving treatments for a germ cell tumor). They sold well over 100 t-shirts as well.

    2012 Results
    1, Andrea Szewczyk, 4:06:10 (womenís division winner).
    2, Connor Marley, 4:22:19 (menís division winner).
    3, Dan North, 4:28:18.
    4, Alex Joy, 5:07:26.
    5, Cody Church, 5:24:45.
    6, Nate Laymon, 5:25:55.
    7, Erin Drake, 5:36:42.
    8, Brandon Metz, 5:39:15.
    9, Troy Delgrego, 5:41:15.
    10, Dan Ward, 5:50:38.
    11, Tyler Brien, 5:53:30.
    12, Mathijs Vrenken, 5:58:14 (international division winner).
    13, Ariel Mroz-Brewer, 6:11:01.
    14, Ray Hernandez, 6:33:40.
    16, Josh Jones, 6:43:55.
    17, Christina Faubert, 6:37:27.
    18, Sarah Edwards, 6:49:01.
    19, Jessica Bishop, 7:07:54.
    20, Alexis Nowack, 7:20:20.
    21, Maegan Laymon, 7:53:23.
    22, Lauren Robinson, 7:40:01.
    23, Carl Burr, Jr., 7:42:57.
    24, Mike Land, 8:11:06.
    25, Mike Waszkiewicz, 9:13:02.


    back page

    Created and maintained by Aileen Carney Sweeney - Class of 1974

    Digital Image Copyright & Copyright © 1997 - 2016
    Modified May 27, 2016